Minecraft Blogs | Minecraft Games

Finding Fish in Minecraft XBLA

Posted on: August 22, 2012

Having switched the difficulty in my world, so that mobs could spawn, I could kill the spiders to get string and this string meant I could make a fishing rod, so I went out searching for spiders, having slept the night before and staying up a while so that the mob would spawn, so I located a nice calm spider and then attacked it, and then it started attacking me, swinging an iron sword to kill it, having killed the spider and made sticks for a fishing rod, I created it and wandered of to the closest body of water, luckily this wasn’t a large distance away, I equipped it into my hot bar and scrolled to it so I could use it.

Once the fishing rod was reached, a mini tutorial showing me how to use the rod, I followed it, and I will say it was a tricky thing to get my head around, I hear people saying “oh it just catching fish”, it was a matter of waiting for the bait to disappear into the water, and when it did you had to have lighting reactions to get the fish.

I think the mini tutorials are good as they are Xbox exclusive, I think it allows the player to use the tool/item without having to research it on the Internet, it allows the player to learn without having to quit the game, and it keeps the player on the game.

Casting the rod is simple, collecting the fish is simple, it’s just a matter of finding a body of water and having the patience to wait for a fish to get hooked.

Funny, I didn’t think fish made and appearance in the game, having swam around a little bit, I guess the reason the fish aren’t in sight when swimming around, they would cause lag in the game, or something similar and as many PC players know, lag absolutely kills the game, I’m glad that I haven’t experienced any lag on Xbox, but no doubt I will experience it, as all the new features get added in, I’m sure 4JStudios “the developers” are trying to cut out all instances of lag in the game, which I and every other Minecraft player on the Xbox welcomes I hope.

Cooking the fish is done in the same process as cooking a pork chop, I’m sure that eating a fish also replenishes the same amount of health as a pork chop.

Thanks for reading

More next week

JH

Leave a comment